Saturday, December 31, 2016 - 5:21pm

Closing out 2016, we are proud to highlight our graduate students' achievements. 

The 2016 Departmental Research Award goes to Ryan Sibert, for his work on developing radiotracer methods to measure methane and hydrocarbon oxidation rate measurements, and his leadership in the field (some 90 days at sea in 2016). Runner up: Jurjen Rooze, for his work on modeling of C and N cycling in marine sediments. 

The 2016 Departmental Award for Teaching & Outreach goes to Anna Tansik, recognizing her excellence in teaching in Biology, as well as her outreach efforts through the UGA-Duke Talent Identification Program. Runner up: David Miklesh, for his work as a TA in Marine Sciences and in the MSGSA.